Men's tennis beats CSU, advances to NCAA's Round of 16

Men's tennis beats CSU, advances to NCAA's Round of 16
The Lander men's tennis team celebrates after defeating Columbus State in the NCAA Southeast Region on Sunday. Pictured front row (L-R) are: Diego Zegarra and Graeme Simpson. Back row (L-R) are: Paulo Fernandes, Ross Armstrong, Samuel Poutignat, Oscar Axelsson, Paul-Henri Arrigoni, Adam Jonsson, Vincent Verpeaux, August Iwdal and head coach Brett Simpson. (Photo by Joe Cabri)

COLUMBUS, Ga. – The No. 7-ranked Lander men's tennis team will be making its first trip to the NCAA Tournament's Round of 16 since 2003 after defeating No. 8 Columbus State, 5-4, Sunday afternoon in the third round of the tournament at the Mary V. Blackmon Tennis Center. (NCAA Round of 16 Bracket)

The Round of 16 will be played May 8-11 in Surprise, Ariz. The Bearcats improve to 16-3 overall, while Columbus State ends the season at 18-3.

Lander will open the Round of 16 at 9 a.m., Wednesday, May 8 against No. 19 Cameron University. A Lone Star Conference school in the Central Region, Cameron is located in Lawton, Okla.

The Lander/Cameron winner will go against the winner of No. 10 Concordia (NY)/No. 22 Northwest Missouri State at 10 a.m. Thursday.

After trailing Columbus, 2-1, following the doubles matches, Lander battled back to claim four of six singles to clinch the win. Tied at 4-4, senior All-American Paul-Henri Arrigoni won the deciding match at No. 1 singles over Olivier Simonet, 7-5, 5-7, 6-1.

In other singles matches, No. 2 Vincent Verpeaux (LU) def. Gordan Divljak (CSU) 6-3, 6-2; No. 3 Quentin Rayniere (CSU) def. Samuel Poutignat (LU) 6-3, 6-4; No. 4 Oscar Axelsson (LU) def. Marco Almorin (CSU) 2-6, 6-4, 6-3; No. 5 Adam Jonsson (LU) def. Danilo Sardelli (CSU) 4-6, 6-2, 6-3; and No. 6 Adi Malicbegovic (CSU) def. August Iwdal (LU) 6-1, 6-2.

In doubles, No. 1 Adam Jonsson/August Iwdal (LU) def. Marco Almorin/Olivier Simonet (CSU) 8-6; No. 2 Gordan Divljak/Quentin Rayniere (CSU) def. Vincent Verpeaux/Paul-Henri Arrigoni (LU) 8-5; and No. 3 Adi Malicbegovic/Danilo Sardelli (CSU) def. Samuel Poutignat/Oscar Axelsson (LU) 8-3.